C-nat jumps

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
Trip-
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

C-nat jumps

Post by Trip- »

Hi all,

I am sorry if this has been posted before, but I really couldn't find exactly what I experience after searching through the forum and other places.

I have recently received my practice set, I am a beginner but I do manage to have a decent steady tone.
The problem with the C-nat that I am having is that with the regular proposed fingering X|OXXXOXX|X - the C-nat is sometimes a C-sharp.
What I mean by sometimes, is that if I go from A to a C-nat for example, I will hear a C-sharp for a short while which then "jumps" down to a C-nat at an unexpected moment, without me changing fingering or air pressure. If I vent the A before going to the C-nat like so: X|XXOXOXX|X, then the C-nat is just fine.
So now I started using an alternative fingering to the C-nat which doesn't jump: X|OXXXOOX|X.

So basically, I have two questions:
- Is this issue known and maybe someone could please explain to me if it is a chanter issue or a reed issue?
- Should it be a bad habbit for a beginner to develop an alternative fingering to the C-nat right from the start - in the uilleann piping domain (I am a flute player)?

I must add that the sound character of both of the above fingering options are a bit different, the pitch sounds almost the same.

Thank you all,
P
PJ
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: ......................................................................................................

Re: C-nat jumps

Post by PJ »

C-Nat fingering can vary from one chanter to the next, so find the fingering that best suits your changer. If venting lower hand tone holes helps, then do so.