Bag Pressure

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
John-N
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by John-N »

I thought I would post this particular question to my friends and family at C&F, rather than the yahoo board.

I'm a beginner u.piper and I just recently got a 1/2 set made by a reputable US maker.

My biggest surprise in learning to play is how <i>hard</i> I have to squeeze the bag to get even the slightest squeek to come out. I'm talking <u>really</u> hard. When I listen to CDs the really good players sound like they're barely even pressing on their bags- the notes seem to effortlessly come forth.

I have been playing music long enough to know that the experts always make it sound easy and effortless.

So, what are people's experiences who have played on many different sets made by different manufacturers? Do they all basically have the same air pressure requirements? I'm assuming that my reed is fairly decent quality as it came from the manufacturer.

When I play up into the second octave, it really really gets tough. After playing for a few minutes I am exhausted. Any advise?

Quitting over a little physical exertion isn't an option. I like uilleann pipes too much for that.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: John-N on 2001-09-24 18:58 ]</font>
eskin

Post by eskin »

Sounds like something is really wrong with the plumbing from the bag to the chanter, assuming that the reed is OK. If you disconnect the chanter from the bag, is there considerable resistance to air flow? If you remove the reed from the chanter and suck (don't blow!!!) on the staple end, can you easily get a tone?

Michael Eskin
Tony
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I used to play pipes about 20 years ago and suddenly abducted by aliens.
Not sure why... but it's 2022 and I'm mysteriously baack...

Post by Tony »

John,