which pipes more versatile?

A forum about Uilleann (Irish) pipes and the surly people who play them.
Uncle Matt
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

which pipes more versatile?

Post by Uncle Matt »

Hi! I am a novice to the world of piping, so if this seems like a dumb question please go easy on me! :-?

Could you tell me, are the Uilleann pipes more versatile than the Northumbrian smallpipes? If so, in what ways? thanks!
Peter Duggan
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm not registering, I'm trying to edit my profile! The field “Tell us something.” is too short, a minimum of 100 characters is required.

Re: which pipes more versatile?

Post by Peter Duggan »

Different beasts from different traditions, really, but you might enjoy this lighthearted comparison and duet set...

Jarlath Henderson and Andy May at Lennoxlove House
And we in dreams behold the Hebrides.

Master of nine?
Uncle Matt

Post by Uncle Matt »

interesting, they both seem to keep up musically with eachother quite well! From what I can tell, one advantage of the Northumbrian smallpipes is that you can stand up and play easier. :)
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »

It's an interesting good question.

On paper, the uilleann pipes and NSP have similar capabilities, a wide chromatic range and capable of detached playing.

The uilleann pipes' edge perhaps is in the on the leg/off the leg thing which gives it a greater variety of tonal colours.