What audio interface / soundcard for home recording?

Oxymorons "R" Us
Forum rules
Please see forum announcement for description and rules!
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

What audio interface / soundcard for home recording?

Post by hans »

I like to expand on the other topic about what software is preferred for recording, to what hardware is preferred in addition to a computer.
Do you prefer a certain kind of USB audio interface, a certain card (for PC), or what?
eskin
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: What audio interface / soundcard for home recording?

Post by eskin »

I've used an M-Audio Audiophile 24/96 for many years and like it very much.
highland-piper

Post by highland-piper »

About 10 years ago I bought a Turtle Beach Santa Cruz sound card. It has good specs for a sound card. It's not as good as a "real" audio interface, but it's probably good enough that it's not the weakest link in my system (which is probably my mixer).

I'd like to have a real audio interface. M-Audio seems like it has a lot going for it. But I really don't record enough to make it worth spending money on. If I was going to buy one, it would definitely need to have 4 balanced inputs. I think begin able to record 4 tracks at once, instead of two, would be a big plus.
Feadoggie

Post by Feadoggie »