Instrument tuners for whistle makers

Oxymorons "R" Us
Forum rules
Please see forum announcement for description and rules!
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Instrument tuners for whistle makers

Post by hans »

Has anyone suggestions for a tuner useful for whistle making?
It should have an easily visible display, for use in a brightly lit workshop.
It should not be too expensive (ruling out strobe tuners).
My ideal tuner would be programmable for programming different tuning systems, it should not only do ET tuning. It should have pitch calibration, and be able to play any note in the choosen tuning system, so one could tune by ear against reference tones, which should sound reasonably loud and good.

How good is the Korg OT 120?
It has some inbuilt alternative tunings, but it is not programmable.

Or the KORG LCA 120 ?
It shows volume level as well as pitch, which might be handy.
Last edited by hans on Sat Jul 10, 2010 10:55 am, edited 4 times in total.
Steve Bliven

Re: Instrument tuner for whistle makers

Post by Steve Bliven »

Don't know whether this would work for your purposes, but Flutini is a pretty neat application. It provides tuning over the entire range of notes played, during playing. In that way it avoids the "blowing it into tune by watching the needle" syndrome. It's downloadable at http://www.novasession.org/Flutini/

Best wishes.

Steve
Live your life so that, if it was a book, Florida would ban it.
hans
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Re: Instrument tuner for whistle makers

Post by hans »

Flutini is quite cool. But I am looking specifically for something which can live in the workshop, and I don't want to run a computer there.