good mics for flute recording...

Oxymorons "R" Us
Forum rules
Please see forum announcement for description and rules!
thefolkie2018
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a former professional musician sadly retired due to ill health. Sadly selling off a rather beautiful flute. ?Been aware of this forum for years, visited for research etc. You're doing a smashing job

good mics for flute recording...

Post by thefolkie2018 »

hello folks.

I suppose this has been covered a bit, but I thought I'd share some mic background for flute and other use mics which really do sound rather stunning.

I leave this post open for anyone to suggest other mic makes and models and techniques as it's always a good help for studio and live ideas for newcomers or those who fancy a bit of creative work.

I've been a fan of Aston mics for some time now and have to say that their range of mics really do cut the mustard, from the starlight which is a light, compact mic with a very flexible sound palett through to the spirit and origin which are more bulky studio mics, the spirit is a more adaptable studio mic and really does pack some punch for the money. Over the last couple of years, I've used these with a zoom H6 recorder on locations including some rather nice old churches, etc.

I've never worked with clip mics, so my experience isn't there, but from a stand based mic, either close or distant mic work, the above are great mics for the money. See what you think.
Gabriel

Re: good mics for flute recording...

Post by Gabriel »

Leaving lurking mode...