Quena Embouchure

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
hidancity
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 12

Quena Embouchure

Post by hidancity »

Hello,
I recently recieved a Quena and I'm having a heck of a time playing the second and third octave. Actually, I'm new to world and wooden flutes. The last 6 months I got hooked and started buying transverse bamboo flutes, bonsuri's, whistles, native american and middle eastern flutes. I had never played the flute before in my life but since I had studied trumpet all through college it didn't take me too long to figure out how to play. The bonsuri's took me awile to learn how to play at least two octaves, where to place the flute on my lip, and how to adjust it to get the higher register buy closing the aperture or lower by dropping the jaw. But the Quena placement and embochure has got me stumbed.

When I get to the second octave the sound collapses and I fall back to the lower octave. And the lower octave isn't clear. I'm moving it around to find the appropriate place. I'm pretty sure it's me not the quena. I just purchased a very good quality one from Argentina and I have another one. It looks so easy watching those guys on youtube. Is it placement, aperture? should I expect it to take time like the transverse flutes?

How d
murchmb

Re: Quena Embouchure

Post by murchmb »

I can't help you directly, but I can offer some advice. Get in touch with Tony Hinnigan. I've found him to be quite accessible and responsive when I've asked questions in the past. He seems eager to help and definitely has a soft spot for quenas and those that are interested in playing them.

Mike
hidancity wrote:Hello,