Shakuhachi Players Here?

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
brianormond
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Shakuhachi Players Here?

Post by brianormond »

-Just curious. I hear they're difficult to learn but their sound is sure fine.
Harry
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Post by Harry »

Howaya Brian,

I play shakuhachi. There's a knack to it, but if you have one sitting around you for a while you'll get some sort of sound to work with before too long. These moulded plastic practice shakuhachi are good: they have a tapered bore so are a bit more like a real one than the straight bore PVC practice instruments, and they are very sturdy/ don't need worry about moisture etc:

http://www.shakuhachiyuu.com/

$110 and worth it.

Regards,

Harry
mukade

Post by mukade »

Hello,

I studied Kinko-ryu shakuhachi for 4 years.
I don't play any more, but I would always suggest Monty Levenson's student flutes.

They are a little more expensive, but my teacher thought they were so good he sent for a couple from the US after playing mine.

http://www.shakuhachi.com/

Mukade
'The people who play the flat pipes usually have more peace of mind. I like that.'
- Tony Mcmahon
Harry

Post by Harry »

Here's a nice honkyoku piece:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dUfFjjNYEzE

Cheers,

H
The Sporting Pitchfork
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by The Sporting Pitchfork »

Thanks for posting that, Harry. Nice stuff.

I mess around with the shakuhachi from time to time...I wouldn't say that I "play" it. The technique takes some getting used to, to be sure, but when you manage to get your first really nice, reedy low D from a shakuhachi, it's a very satisfying feeling.