alto recorder half step below 440

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
jeffrey armbruster
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm interested in learning the alto recorder. I play classical guitar. and here I am filling in a field tprove that I'm not an evil hacker. what a world!

alto recorder half step below 440

Post by jeffrey armbruster »

I finally tried to play some pieces with a friend who has a very reliably tuned piano. With my alto closed as far as possible I was nearly a half step below 440. (I'm new to tuning and perhaps I was doing something wrong?)Apparently I can have a shop tune the recorder. Sadly i bought it at Lazars, which was pretty close to me, but that business has been sold.

Any idea how expensive this fix is? or any other considerations? My alto is a decent Mollenhauer but not a great instrument by any means. I may ask around and see if any of my new acquaintances with Recorder Acquisition Syndrome might want to sell me an alto that's in proper tune. This would probably be an upgrade in quality to boot. Still, I'd like this instrument to be properly tuned.
plunk111
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: alto recorder half step below 440

Post by plunk111 »

It may be tuned to baroque pitch which is A=415. Try setting your tuner to that and see if that's the problem.

Pat
Pat Plunkett, Wheeling, WV
jeffrey armbruster
Tell us something.: I'm interested in learning the alto recorder. I play classical guitar. and here I am filling in a field tprove that I'm not an evil hacker. what a world!

I thought of that. I've played a few duets with experienced players playing their 440 altos. and we were in tune.

remember that I've been playing alone in my apt. almost exclusively so tuning hasn't been on my radar.