How difficult is too difficult?

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
Anastasia
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hi, I'm a beginner in recorder playing and I was looking for a community to ask some questions and exchange opinions about music.

How difficult is too difficult?

Post by Anastasia »

Hello!

I'm learning to play the recorder on my own, for a little while now. I'm pretty enthusiastic about it, but sometimes I wish I had a teacher to recommend me some musical pieces to play or tell me if I'm making any mistakes. An issue I've been having lately, as I moved to a little bit more challenging pieces is that I don't know when a piece is too difficult for me. Sometimes I start trying to play something and I give up thinking it may be too difficult yet. So, do you have any advice on how to know when something has to wait a bit?
Peter Duggan
Tell us something.: I'm not registering, I'm trying to edit my profile! The field “Tell us something.” is too short, a minimum of 100 characters is required.

Re: How difficult is too difficult?

Post by Peter Duggan »

Anastasia wrote:So, do you have any advice on how to know when something has to wait a bit?
When you're still getting nowhere after weeks or months of approaching it methodically, breaking down the difficulties and building the bits slowly bar by bar, then starting to string them back together while still resisting temptation to start speeding up or linking too much too soon just to hear what it might sound like if you're lucky. Or if listening to/looking at it before you've even tried tells you what's going to take you weeks or months as above to find out the hard way. Otherwise it's probably fair game if it's stretching you a bit (which is good for you when done right), but don't fall into the trap of thinking you can play anything if you just keep battering away at it. Because you can't, otherwise we'd all be global stars!