Playing big instruments

A place for players of other folk/world music wind instruments.
OrangeTractor
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hello! I am a total beginner in music (no talent they tell me). I have always had an interest in all kinds of woodwind instruments. I recently started playing a soprano recorder and I have really been enjoying it. After playing some Irish folk music on recorder I got very interested in tin whistles.

Playing big instruments

Post by OrangeTractor »

Do you have any tips on playing big instruments? Any stories of "taming" them?

I have played a recorder for a year. Just starting really. I have quite small hands. At first I got an alto recorder but got a bit depressed since I couldn't play it because I thought my hands were too small. Some even laughed at me for trying with my tiny hands. Two of my family members have given up with their chosen instruments because they thought their hands were too small. Ha. Not me. After playing a soprano recorder and stretching my hands for awhile I noticed I can now play my alto too. It's easy really. And nobody is laughing at me nowadays. The alto is now tamed and behaving well. I just ordered a tenor recorder (and a whistle I was afraid of because I thought it would bee too big). I saw a youtube video of a girl who has smaller hands that mine are and she can play the most humongous recorders. Bigger than tenor.

I just stretch my fingers all the time. I stop if there is any pain. And I practice a lot with my recordes. It feels so good to get it right that my brain picks it up. I am confident that I can tame that tenor recorder too if I really want to. At first I could play only 10 minutes or so with my alto before my fingers stated hurting. Now I could go on forever. I would if I didn't have any neighbours. :tomato:
Mae