Tonguing or finger ornamentation - Seamus Egan's playing

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Eivind
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Eivind »

Hi all! I am reposting this to the Flute forum, since someone over at the whistle forum pointed out that Seamus Egan may be better known to flute-people :smile:

I have this very technical question:
I keep listening to this great recording by Solâs that continues to amaze me; track 2 on the CD "The hour before dawn"... It consists of 3 reels. The second part, "Lilac reel" features some wonderful playing by Seamus Egan. Being a beginner, I am totally baffled as to how he can possible make what he does...it's all so fluent. I cant help but to ask: How? Is this just finger ornamention on one single, fluent stream of air, or do you suspect he uses tonguing to achieve this? I d ont know if you alla have heard this track, but you may perhaps be aquainted to his style of playing. What is the most used way to play? One long, where the fingers do all the work, or lotsa tongue?

I wonder, if this is all fingerwork (like the bulgarian 'Kaval' is played, anyway); how to exercise your fingers to be able to do this kind of movement this fast and, seemingly, effortless?

This man continues to amaze me, and the recordings of this band, Solâs, are warmly recommended. They may not be very bound to tradition, but have the energy and the beauty to keep me listening to them again and again, also the more simple and transparent arrangements.

Anyone?
All the best,

Eivind
RudallRose

Post by RudallRose »

Seamus' playing is indeed perplexing and gorgeous at the same time.