Practice of flute. (Tobin's Favourite)

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
moo jin Lee
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Practice of flute. (Tobin's Favourite)

Post by moo jin Lee »

https://soundcloud.com/dorre/tobins-favourite

I had Self-taught to Irish flute for 2 years.
So I've got a many question. I need Your advice in the This forum.
I study to irish music by Youtube.
So I don't know good or bad for my playing.
At least, I know my bad bit sense. So i use to metronome for lately.
If you got it better knowhow for good bit sense, teach to me please.
And I know two style of triplet. is right??
First style is one breathin and three fingering.
Second style is triple tonguing and three fingering.
MTGuru

Re: Practice of flute. (Tobin's Favourite)

Post by MTGuru »

That is good, Moo Jin. Your rolls and cuts are good, your breathing and phrasing are good, your timing and intonation are good.

What kind of flute do you play? Your tone has a lot of air, and it sounds like your embouchure could use more focus. Other players here can give you better advice about that.
moo jin Lee wrote:And I know two style of triplet. is right??
Triple tonguing is not very common in basic Irish flute style.

Are you in or near Seoul? There is an Irish session in Seoul. If you are interested, I can send you the information.
Vivat diabolus in musica! MTGuru's (old) GG Clips / Blackbird Clips

Joel Barish: Is there any risk of brain damage?
Dr. Mierzwiak: Well, technically speaking, the procedure is brain damage.
JohnB
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by JohnB »

You seem to be coming on well but I would recommend buying a tutor (if you can't get any one to teach you).

June McCormack's flute tutor (with CD) is a good one

http://www.draiochtmusic.com/books/#fliuit

or OIAM looks good - free taster tunes here

http://www.oaim.ie/free-lessons/flute