What to do with an old wooden flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
roseflute
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

What to do with an old wooden flute

Post by roseflute »

Hi
I'm new here. I have an old wooden flute in poor condition, I think my father had planned to repair it but never got round to it. Its a mixture of two different instruments, the top two parts are stamped siccama number 1073 the rest are all stamped Rudall and Rose 15(?) Piazza etc. The two different parts had been jammed together as long as my dad had it, they didn't really fit. Now the cork has rotted away and they're separate.
I was thinking of repairing it for my own use but am now wondering if I should get it done proffessionally.
Is it worth it and if I need to get some cocus wood and some cork where would I try? I am in the channel islands.
I have some experience of woodturning and have done some silversmithing a long time ago.
If this is a common question and I just don't know where to find the answers please bear with me and direct me to the right place.

Regards Roseflute
benhall.1
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a fiddler and, latterly, a fluter. I love the flute. I wish I'd always played it. I love the whistle as well. I'm blessed in having really lovely instruments for all of my musical interests.
Location: Unimportant island off the great mainland of Europe

Re: What to do with an old wooden flute

Post by benhall.1 »

Welcome to the forums Roseflute

Yours doesn't seem all that common a question to me. I'm definitely not the one to answer it, but the expert types 'll be along any minute ... Anyone wanna sweepstake on who'll be first? :)
kkrell