Aulos Stanesby Flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
fsharp
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Playing flute for about 20 years... however, recently, due to surgery on my right hand I find it difficult to cover the holes in a flute, so, apart from a Boehm instrument, I'm not playing.
"that's Alright, I still have my guitar"
I still have a great interest in ITM

Aulos Stanesby Flute

Post by fsharp »

Evening all, I just purchased an Aulos Stanesby flute, and I'm having difficulty fingering the f natural and f sharp to make the difference in pitch noticeable, whichever fingering I use, there is minimal difference between the two notes. I have played all sorts of flutes including a Folkers and Powell Denner copy so I have some experience with forked fingering. Solutions anyone? Thanks.
"is it about a bicycle"?
Ronk
Tell us something.: I enjoy playing flutes & whistles. C&F is a great place to learn more about both. It is interesting to find out more about makers, history, techniques and making music with these instruments.

Re: Aulos Stanesby Flute

Post by Ronk »

I am no expert but am working on playing baroque flutes (I own a couple of 3D printed flutes from Jeff Wulf). For the forked finger Fnat try blowing a bit more softly and image pronouncing the sound 'ang'. That's from Doretthe Janssens' book, "New !Method for the Traverso"
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.
These days many discussions are migrating to Facebook but I prefer the online chat forum format.

Post by pancelticpiper »

I was a Baroque Flute Major for a time in Uni, yes there's only one fingerhole for F natural and F sharp.

It plays around halfway between the two notes.

For an in-tune F sharp you finger xxx|xoo and open the D# key and roll the flute out to bring up the pitch.