Flute Crutch?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
LI Whistler
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Flute Crutch?

Post by LI Whistler »

I have been playing whistle for a few years but also have bought an inexpensive (unkeyed) Dixon Flute. My problem is a left hand injury which prevents me from holding the flute properly. My question: is there any sort of shoulder rest which would support the flute head leaving my left hand to access the holes? I have watched one woman rest the flute head on her shoulder while she plays but this seems very limiting to me. Thoughts?
Moof
Tell us something.: My motto: If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing badly. (Fortunately, as otherwise I'd never be allowed near a musical instrument.)

Re: Flute Crutch?

Post by Moof »

Sounds like a weird question, but how much do you use your chin for support?

I'm a whistler rather than a fluter too, but I was surprised to discover that I needed to push the business end of the flute against my chin to get my bottom lip into position properly. And of course, pushing the flute into the curve between the lower lip and the jaw bone actually supports the head end quite well.

Like most right handed people, I play left hand on top. I found I was using my left as much to create this gentle but sustained pressure against my chin as to support the flute. I have quite severe hand impairment too, but I ended up thinking that if I stuck with it, I'd probably get to the point where I could do it comfortably enough.

I barely qualify even a as a novice, though, I'm sure experienced folk will be along with proper advice.
Steve Bliven

Post by Steve Bliven »