Somers flute blows flat

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Somers flute blows flat

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I acquired a Delrin keyless D flute by Gary Somers a few months ago, and I enjoy it, but it plays flat compared to my other flutes.
I have to push the tuning slide all the way in to play on pitch (and/or use an app to adjust the pitch to match).

It looks like Gary Somers isn't making flutes anymore, or I'd reach out to him. I've seen some people state that individuals can be "flat players", but I'm not sure how those mechanics work. My Solen Le Souef works fine with the slide pulled out a bit, as does my Carbony.

Are there some flutes built for "sharp players"? Can a flute be adjusted by a repair person to play sharper?
Nathaniel James Dowell
Terry McGee
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Somers flute blows flat

Post by Terry McGee »