introduction/a daunting task

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
rick alan
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Hi! I am a professional saxophonist/boehm flute player and I am taking on the task of learning Irish flute and possibly pipes in the future. Cheers..!

introduction/a daunting task

Post by rick alan »

Hi folks..

My name is Rick and I'm from Detroit USA, however I live in currently in Germany.

I'm a professional musician of 25 years. My main focus has been saxophone/boehm flute and I have useable doubles on acoustic guitar/ keyboards/vocals . I've been a "survival-mode" muso for as long as I can remember and I've been known to throw myself into the deep end in order to get a gig. I say "yes" to almost everything.

With that said,

I'm visiting the U.S. shortly and I recently contacted some of my old musician friends. One of them asked if I played Irish flute and I said "no, but I'm willing to learn." Long story short, I have a good gig on Irish flute on St. Paddy's Day and I've never played one or owned one.

I've been reading through the forums picking up a little advice. The most important thing for me is to get my hands on one and begin the embouchure change.

I don't want to spend 5k on an instrument yet, but I'm happy to spend up until about 1.5. I saw one listed in the forum for sale but, being a new user, I'm unable to contact the seller as I do not have the right to do so yet. If you have any suggestions on to where I can get a good used flute that won't frustrate me to tears (I'm used to pro instruments), please let me know!