to key or not to key?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
PB+J
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

to key or not to key?

Post by PB+J »

I have an excellent keyless flute, made by Geoffrey Ellis, and a quite decent no-name six key flute I got from the Irish Flute Store. If I put the Ellis headjoint on the keyed flute, it's a little better. And here I am working on Paddy Fahy's jig, this paddy Fahy's jig, as played by Hayes:

https://youtu.be/G05uOBvzsOI

So at this point I can play it about as well with keys or without: meaning not that well. Both the keying and the half holing are clumsy yet. I feel like I should commit to one or the other. The half-holing feels a little better but would probably always be a bit sloppy and not as crisp. A six keyed flute would be more easily chromatic. But if I really want chromatic, i have a reasonable old silver boehm flute. With a different keying scheme, of course.

Decisions, decisions
Flutern
Tell us something.: I have a keen interest in wooden flutes (modern and antique), early music (Renaissance, Baroque), Romantic music and Irish Traditional Music of course! I also play the clarinet (my first instrument) and I've also started learning the cittern.

Re: to key or not to key?

Post by Flutern »