Practice Routines?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
est
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Kind of a beginner with a keyless flute and an antique wooden flute with keys. Used to play accordion back some time ago, but trying to focus on the flute, until I can get some degree of command over it.

Practice Routines?

Post by est »

I wonder what most folks' practice sessions work out to be.

I'm a software developer by trade, so I have zero plans to become a professional, but I did study music back in college before changing majors a few times :O As a result of those years, I did pick up a few good tips which I've been trying to enforce as I relearn to play the flute after a nearly 20 year break.

Recently, my routine has been to grab the flute after my workday finishes (working from home means no commute! Woohoo!) I try to stick with it at least an hour, but there is still embouchure fatigue that creeps in that sometimes cuts it shorter than I'd like.

I spend some of that time trying to work out a tune (not always a new one). This is usually from written music, but sometimes from a recording (or a tune that I've listened to so many times I can hear it in my head) After a while, I pick up a tune I'm generally able to play by memory and work through any sticking points. Usually, at some point in the second part, I find an issue with a single note and may spend 10 minutes or so just focusing on tone or trying to get a richer quality (either sweet or woody, depending on what I was playing with before).

I also try to play some airs or really slow versions of a tune after a while with the objective of listing to my tone and focusing very carefully on my embouchure. Sadly, I don't have a lot of those in my foggy memory and recordings, so that's on my TODO list...find a good "CD" and learn a few more of those.