Beginner question about length of phrase/how muchair

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Flotineer
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: New fluter. Recovering piper... What with one thing and another I’m learning the flute, but I’ve been learning Irish music for a while now.

Beginner question about length of phrase/how muchair

Post by Flotineer »

Hi all. I’m just beginning this flute thing, but previously played the pipes. As someone who never had to control their breath before - how long can you play for on one breath? Likewise, what is a ballpark figure that is reasonable?
Nanohedron
Moderatorer
Tell us something.: Been a fluter, citternist, and uilleann piper; committed now to the way of the harp.

Oh, yeah: also a mod here, not a spammer. A matter of opinion, perhaps.

Re: Beginner question about length of phrase/how muchair

Post by Nanohedron »

Flotineer wrote:As someone who never had to control their breath before - how long can you play for on one breath? Likewise, what is a ballpark figure that is reasonable?
Welcome, Flotineer.

I would hesitate to say what's a reasonable expectation, and for the following reasons: Yes, breath is involved, but different players have different capacities. The real meat of the issue is embouchure control; the better your embouchure, the less breath is expended. It's sort of like putting your thumb over the end of a hose: It's not that you're blowing with force, it's that the embouchure sets up a controlled jet that your lungs only provide the background supply for, and eventually you should be able to refine that jet to the point that not only won't you need a lot of blowing force, but long phrases become quite easy.