It is currently Mon Jan 18, 2021 5:22 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2020 6:09 pm 

I've just acquired a used keyless David O'Brien flute, which I like a lot so far, but still getting familiar with it. It's got more wear than I'd expect from a flute made just four years ago (2016), but I suppose the previous owner played it out at sessions quite a bit. (It's got a nick on the ring at the bottom of the foot and some scrapes on the inside of the top tenon)

I decided to pull the cork out to get a good look at the condition of the head lining and found the cork to be really discolored on the sides and on the end that faces the tuning slide (pics below). I'm wondering if that's normal? The cork feels solid so maybe it's okay.

The other thing I noticed is that there are spots on the metal (not sure if it's stainless steel or what the material is) of the lining in the head. This is the first flute I've had with a lined head and tuning slide, so I'm new to all this. Would it be normal for water spots to develop on the lining and/or is there potential for corrosion if it hasn't been swabbed out properly after playing? I guess I expected to see a shiny metal finish in the head lining especially for a flute not so old. And is there a good method for polishing the lining, if that's done?

The O'Brien website is no longer active and I've sent emails to all the addresses I could find for D. O'Brien (including the one here on C&F) or else I'd first of all ask the maker about these issues. I'm intending on taking the flute to a (reputable) woodwind shop in San Francisco for a checkup soon, but was wondering what you experienced players/owners think. TIA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2020 6:23 pm 

Not the same as the David O'Brien, whistle maker in Canada, whose site IS active?

http://www.obrienwhistles.com/

http://www.worldtrad.org

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2020 7:13 pm