A selfish beginner flute. F or G?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Spiritchaser
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I’m interested in getting some experienced opinions for a suitable D flute for a beginner (me)

More specifically a flute that’s plastic (ABS or Delrin) so I can take it Backpacking and kayaking, and well suited to my relatively short, wide, mole-hands.

A selfish beginner flute. F or G?

Post by Spiritchaser »

So, I’ve got a D fife and a low D flute to play with my son (and on good days my daughter).

I find that the D fife is wonderfully playful but ear melting and tricky anywhere near the top of the second octave, and really actually dangerous above that... seriously I measured 120 decibels at the bottom of the third octave. Even with earplugs that’s quite a lot... (I’m a beginner so finesse may improve this in time, but not now.)

The D flute sounds better to whatever is left of my ears, but It’s just... less fun to play. It feels slower and while I do have a relatively ergonomic flute, there’s no getting around the fact that my wide, but short fingered mole hands are sub optimal here.

I’m looking for a flute to play just on my own (when no-one is looking), I’ll just transpose everything to the key the flute is in, and if my kids want to play with me I likely won’t use it.

I can find G or F flutes made from Delrin, is there anything in particular to recommend one over the other?

Any suggestions appreciated

Thanks
chas
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: A selfish beginner flute. F or G?

Post by chas »

The most important is what sounds better to you? I had F and G whistles, and F just didn't do it for my ear. Eflat vs. D flutes, same thing.

I had a Sweetheart G flute I really liked. Never tried an F flute for the reason cited above.
Charlie
Whorfin Woods