New Jay Ham flute!

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
BKWeid
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I really enjoy the information and experience from the members on this forum. I've learned so much from the long time members about ITM, flutes, and whistles in general. I also enjoy the humor and culture. Instrument reviews have been helpful and the posts on embouchure are priceless. As I generally don't get out to sessions, the information from this board is my only connection at times to the music.

New Jay Ham flute!

Post by BKWeid »

Last week I took delivery of a new Jay Ham keyless flute in rosewood. I wanted to spend a little time with my new flute before posting...

As a long time woodworker, I am blown away by the high level of fit, finish, and craftsmanship this flute exhibits. The shaped rings, the metal engraving on the crown, the bead on the barrel, the footjoint's contrasting wood inlay, and the slide are all the work of a skilled artist. It is really something to behold--simply beautiful. The rosewood, highly polished, is gorgeous.

Jay's design, based on work from Rudall and Rose, has medium sized holes (barely smaller than my Olwell Nicholson), and plays like a dream. I came back to the flute (after short break in periods of play) thinking my excitement had gotten the better of me. But no, this flute has continued to amaze. It plays extrodinarily well, easy to fill, very responsive, strong warm and reedy tone with great power. The upper end is sweet into the third octave and the low end all the way to the bell note is strong, reedy and vibrant. The embouchure cut suits me very well. From my first blown notes I felt this flute made me sound better!

In my opinion, Jay's flute deserves the highest praise. I'm now on Jay's list for a future keyed flute.

I couldn't be happier with my flute purchase.