Carbon Fiber Flutes?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
tradlad123
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Learning more about flutes here, and looking for good makers. Also used instrument exchange is very convenient.

Carbon Fiber Flutes?

Post by tradlad123 »

I came across one, Carbony, and it looks like there are significant advantages to using it as the material.
This makes me wonder why they are not catching up as fast (even as fast as Delrin), and/or why not more makers are adopting these.
Are there any major concerns?
PB+J
Tell us something.: I'm a historian and the author of "The Beat Cop:Chicago's Chief O'Neill and the Creation of Irish Music," published by the University of Chicago in 2022. I live in Arlington VA and play the flute sincerely but not well

Re: Carbon Fiber Flutes?

Post by PB+J »

tradlad123 wrote:I came across one, Carbony, and it looks like there are significant advantages to using it as the material.
This makes me wonder why they are not catching up as fast (even as fast as Delrin), and/or why not more makers are adopting these.
Are there any major concerns?

I'm not convinced of the advantages over, say, delrin. Carbon fiber would I think be lighter, but there's a lot of epoxy or glue in any carbon fiber object which I think might have a dampening effect? The strength to weight ratio of carbon fiber doesn't seem to me to be all that crucial in a flute compared to, say, a guitar soundboard which has to resist the pull of strings for decades
busterbill

Post by busterbill »

I have an F carbony that I enjoy a lot. There is a youtube video of Sean Gavin playing one out there somewhere. I have often thought I'd buy a low D if I were in the market for a travel flute. They are light play easily.

I have a F and G whistle as well. I enjoy them very much.
WaltP
Tell us something.: . .

Post by WaltP »