Building Flute Embouchure

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
ceolceili
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Flute player trying to improve all the time. This site helps a great deal with all sorts of questions and issues. Appreciate all the input.

Building Flute Embouchure

Post by ceolceili »

I have been practicing with two flutes each day for a few months and can maintain my embouchure well for 20 minutes or so for each one at the most . I guess I have been trying to keep them both played in. Of course, both play a bit differently. Would I be better off just playing one of them for a while in order to better build the old lips up faster? Thanks for any input.
fatmac
Tell us something.: Kickbiker - at over 70!
:lol:

Re: Building Flute Embouchure

Post by fatmac »

I think it will help initially to concentrate on just one to start with.
I had the same problem & seemed to improve better by playing just one for a bit, before going back to the other one(s).
Once you have a fairly consistent embouchure on one, it seems easy enough to adjust to the others.

N.B. I'm only a beginner myself, so could be wrong. :D
Keith.
Trying to do justice to my various musical instruments.
Sedi
Tell us something.: Practice, practice, practice. You're never too old to learn.
Keep on fluting.
---u---o-o-o--o-o-o--
-----------------------

Post by Sedi »