New to Irish flute: What to buy?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
ksapp
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I’m a professional, classically-trained flautist who’s been playing Irish music on my Boehm flute for almost a year now. I’m currently looking for a quality but relatively inexpensive Irish flute, either wood or Delrin.

New to Irish flute: What to buy?

Post by ksapp »

I'm a classically trained flautist, and I've been playing Irish music on my Boehm flute for a while. I want to start learning Irish flute, and I'm trying to figure out which flute would be the best fit for me.

My budget is around $450 (I might be able to stretch $500). I've been playing classical flute for years, so I don't THINK embouchure should be much of an issue (?). I am very petite though, so perhaps something with smaller holes? And I'm not totally opposed to a Delrin flute. Overall, I'm looking for something not too expensive but that I will hopefully not outgrow in the near future.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
jim stone

Re: New to Irish flute: What to buy?

Post by jim stone »

The Dave Copley bottom of the line delrin flute is very good. I've played one
busking for years, and it's generally well thought of. Within your budget.
I like the one without rings, looks elegant and rings would be non-functional given
the material, and the delrin slide is quite good enough for
sessions and so on. The reach is good. This is a near professional Irish flute, I would say.
Also you can sell it if ever you want something better.
There are other good makers that people will recommend.
By the way, Dave will put in a C natural thumb hole (left hand)
for free.
Gromit

Post by Gromit »

There are some 'Irish style' players who play a Boehm flute - Joanie Madden of Cherish the ladies is a great player.