It is currently Wed Oct 23, 2019 6:41 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:07 am 

Hey folks,

i am a beginner on the flute and have a Tipple PVC flute since some time. Albeit i like the Tipple flute, i want to upgrade to a woodn flute. My budget is good enough for a keyless by one of the well recommended makers (bood not big enough for a keyed one). The point that i am not sure about is the (tonal) key of the flute. My Tipple is in D and there are plenty of lovely tunes to be played in that key. But every now and then i "fall in love" with a tune that i hear, which includes a bottom C as note or it is a tune played with a flute in the key of C (is that the same?), like "May it be" played by Eimear McGeown (when i looked up the music sheet of May It Be i found that it starts with notes even below the C, how can she play the tune with a flute in the key of C then? You can find the tune i talk about on Martin Doyle's page.).
The question is, what key do i need to play these "C-Tunes"? Or is "C-tunes" a to general description? And does a flute, suitable for such tunes, limit my access to other tunes significantly?

I hope my question is understandable and someone ahs some helpfull information for me.
Thanks in advance,
Peter.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 28, 2019 3:26 am 

Location: Unimportant island off the great mainland of Europe
Hi Pjotre and welcome to the forums!