Cooperman Fife

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
AngelicBeaver
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing whistles since 2010. I love how varied whistles are in their design, construction, tone, and handling. Though I've largely settled on what I enjoy playing, I'm still a sucker for an interesting new design.

Cooperman Fife

Post by AngelicBeaver »

I picked up a Cooperman Bb fife off eBay. Does anyone have experience with these? I figured it might be fun and improve my embouchure a bit. I'm noticing that the Bb bottom note seems very flat. Is that common in fifes, or is it a problem with this particular fife, or am I just embouchuring wrong?

You can see my pitiful attempt to play it below. In the comments, I marked the point at which you can really hear the flat bottom note. I was thinking that, once I got my mouth shapes sorted, it might be easy to take some material off the bottom to get it to play in tune, if that was the issue.

I've also got another Bb (keyed) fife/flute on the way. I don't know what to expect from it, but it will give me another reference point.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcHSqoQb4SY
Nathaniel James Dowell
jim stone

Re: Cooperman Fife

Post by jim stone »

You sound fine to my ear. The tone will improve as will the control.
If you want to lift the bottom note (forgive me if I now tell you what you
already know), when you get to it lift your chin and blow more across the
hole. This will lift the pitch. Flute playing is a lot like singing. Just as one
keeps correcting one's voice to hit the right pitch, one blows the flute in tune.

I like Bb fifes, especially ones made of blackwood.
fatmac
Tell us something.: Kickbiker - at over 70!
:lol:

Post by fatmac »

I'm no expert, but I think it is just a matter of finding your embouchure, (it sounds quite similar to my German fife).

I also bought mine to improve my embouchure. :)
Keith.