Newb Question - Playing 2nd octave “d”

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Hi4head
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Just recently I’ve begun playing a transverse flute. I’m wanting to learn more about simple system flutes and playing.

Newb Question - Playing 2nd octave “d”

Post by Hi4head »

I’m very new to playing. In my on-line instruction it has been indicated the one should open the top hole (T1 or L1 depending on the instruction) when going up to the 2nd octave of “d”. My question is simply “why?”.

On other flutes that I’ve played, the octave shift was accomplished primarily by an embouchure change. I know that all holes closed except T1 can make it easier for some to shift octaves, but why is it standard? (Or isn’t it really standard playing?) For me it seems easier and has less finger confusion to make the octave shift only with the embouchure change. But, I’m also wanting to learn the correct way of playing. Are there other reasons for playing D (d’) with T1 open?

I detect a slight difference in tone from one method versus the other. My electronic tuner shows no change, but something is different (maybe volume or cleanliness?).

Many thanks.
Chris
kmag
Tell us something.: I try my best to play the flute and pipes. I have been coming here for years and now are required to fill this out for an address change.

Re: Newb Question - Playing 2nd octave “d”

Post by kmag »

The top hole being left open for the second octave D is for venting and gives a cleaner tone much in the same way venting the Eb/D# key makes other notes cleaner.

If it is a quick run and the vented D note is problematic I leave it closed but it usually works well and I find that on my flute it is a more pleasing note.
Conical bore

Post by Conical bore »