Flutes in hand luggage (EU)???

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Flutes in hand luggage (EU)???

Post by hans »

Hi guys, a quick question: can one take a one-Piece PVC flute on an air plane inside hand luggage? I've got an Eb flute, which is just under 55cm long, so should fit to the airline's hand luggage requirements (KLM). But would Security allow it? Is it deemed a potential weapon (a short stick basically)? Same question as regards to medium length alu whistles, would they be deemed dangerous? I don't want to turn up at the airport and abandon my instruments, nor sent them as extra (expensive) luggage. I travel light. Thanks for any hints on this! And sorry I have not been around for a long time!
hans
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

Re: Flutes in hand luggage (EU)???

Post by hans »

Has anyone had experience, good or bad, with one piece flutes or longer whistles, to go through security at the airport? I guess no answer may mean a good one, no problems?? I have not used air planes for more than 10 years...
afl2277
Tell us something.: Just starting out on the tin whistle journey and loving learning to play. Now at an advanced age, I still remember my recorder days from school and so, remembering where the notes are has given me a head start.

Post by afl2277 »

hans wrote:Has anyone had experience, good or bad, with one piece flutes or longer whistles, to go through security at the airport? I guess no answer may mean a good one, no problems?? I have not used air planes for more than 10 years...