Is my flute about to crack ?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Piloshun
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Is my flute about to crack ?

Post by Piloshun »

Hi,

I'm a bit new to irish flute and I need an opinion on the state of my flute.

I purchased an Olwell keyless pratten flute in January. The previous owner lived in Florida and I live in Switzerland. I wrote to Patrick Olwell and he told me this flute had been made in 1992 so it should be quiet stable. However I noticed a few lines in the grain. Since it's my first wooden flute, I am not sure if it's totally normal or if it might be the beginning of a crack. Could someone with more experience give me their opinion ? It might be hard to tell from photos so I took several.

The suspicious looking "line":

https://ibb.co/eRsy2y

https://ibb.co/dfE0FJ

From another angle:

https://ibb.co/bZnRpd

https://ibb.co/cvTMNy

There is also some smaller line on the foot:

https://ibb.co/gKf1Ny

The foot "grain" looks dry:

https://ibb.co/dZOXUd

The head has also a bit of a dry-ish look:

https://ibb.co/ih5e9d

But the body is really smooth:

https://ibb.co/dhrmpd

Otherwise the flute is amazing and plays wonderful. I'm definitely in love with it so maybe I just spent too much time watching it :) Anyway, I would really appreciate some helps on this matter.
fatmac
Tell us something.: Kickbiker - at over 70!
:lol:

Re: Is my flute about to crack ?

Post by fatmac »

I'm not experienced with wooden flutes, but it looks fairly normal to me, as far as a wooden instrument can look, & allowing for it's age, the smoother barrel is where you finger it the most, so personally, I'm not surprised to see it looking smoother - but wait for a more experienced players view point. :)
Keith.
Trying to do justice to my various musical instruments.
jim stone

Post by jim stone »

Blackwood often looks this way. Humidify and oil and let the thing go.
It's probably alright.