Keyed flute or Combination of keyless

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Yan
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm new to Irish flute - I've been reading forum threads on flute makers, hand position, etc. And I'm checking the used instruments religiously. I'm very grateful for this resource!

Keyed flute or Combination of keyless

Post by Yan »

Hi All,

I'm a relative beginner with Irish flute - I've been playing around with whistles and an old rosewood flute for years, but have started to try to learn more seriously. I'm in the process of choosing a better quality flute to buy.

I want to purchase an instrument that I will be able to play comfortably outside the key of D. Do you recommend a keyed flute, or a combination of keyless flutes in multiple keys?

Thank you!
Yan
tstermitz

Re: Keyed flute or Combination of keyless

Post by tstermitz »

You probably don't want to go down the path of buying multiple flutes. Expense is one thing, but the real problem is that you would need to become skilled at the embouchure for each one. Someday, that might be possible, but not in the short term.

6 key flutes are frequently available used. New keyed flutes might have a six to 18 month order time, but that goes into the years from certain, high-demand makers.

4-keyed flutes are often useful, depending on what key signatures you are seeking, but you might as well go for 6 keys. 8 keys is necessary only if you really need the low C note. I have one tune that uses low C, but that is unusual; low B and A are more common given the range of the fiddle, and you probably don't want to chase that rabbit.

Check the Buy-Sell forums or the Irish Flute Store for present availability.
Yan
Tell us something.: I'm new to Irish flute - I've been reading forum threads on flute makers, hand position, etc. And I'm checking the used instruments religiously. I'm very grateful for this resource!