Adjusting the head cork

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Steve Bliven
antispam: No

Adjusting the head cork

Post by Steve Bliven »

I have a flute that plays a bit flat on the lowest three notes and a bit sharp on the G-A-B in the upper register—not a whole lot in either direction, but just enough. Is that something that can be fixed by adjusting the head cork? And, if so, which way should I move it? Or is it more apt to be operator error whose embouchure or air stream should be adjusted?

Thanks and best wishes.

Steve
Live your life so that, if it was a book, Florida would ban it.
sligofluter
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Re: Adjusting the head cork

Post by sligofluter »

When the cork needs to be adjusted, ussually all notes are flat or sharp. Does that happens in both octaves?

David
Our irish music blog in Spanish: https://theirishflow.com/
Conical bore

Post by Conical bore »

My understanding (and I'm no expert) is that cork adjustments are only for making very fine-tuned adjustments for the upper octave relative to the lower one. And if you're a relative beginner like me, you should just follow the flute marker's advice for where to set the cork and not use it for upper/lower octave adjustment. Because this is something you're probably not doing correctly with embouchure.

That said, I do have my cork adjusted just a hair to the left (towards the end cap) more than the theoretically best position. Just a tiny bit. It works for me, in getting the upper octave in tune with the lower one, but everyone's flute is different.

One piece of advice I read here recently is to listen to the sound of the low G and high octave G. If they sound the same, your cork is in a good position. I like this, because it's a good reality check that keeps me from obsessing over the cork position. :)
kkrell