WTB: practice flute

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
UncleChuck
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am interested in making whistles. I have been doing it for years, and I have finally started to get good at it.

WTB: practice flute

Post by UncleChuck »

Hi everyone, I am once again trying to learn to play the flute. I wonder if anyone would be willing to trade a couple of Tilbury whistles for a good practice flute. I would consider buying one, but I am a little cash strapped as always.
John Driscoll
Tell us something.: I've been playing Irish flute and whistles since January 2016. It's been a great departure from percussion, which has been my primary form of musicianship since I was a boy.

Re: WTB: practice flute

Post by John Driscoll »

There's a nice M&E polymer flute for sale on the UIE right now. Probably a decent place to start!
keithsandra
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by keithsandra »

At $85 for a new flute you can't go wrong with a Tipple. I'm still playing his four piece white with lip plate and wedge after 12 years and I've bought and been given11 wooden and delrin flutes since then, including a new Olwell Pratten, an Olwell RnR and an excellent M&E RnR that sings like a lark. My Tipple half holes easily (!), plays easily, and sounds much like the best of the rest according to my (polite?) listeners. I can play ITM aires, classical, operas, musicals' tunes, adult pop - seemingly anything on my soft or loud (mainly loud), in tune Tipple. I leave it assembled to pick up and play every day with minimum maintenance, and no rethreading or corking.

If I win the lottery I'll set up a fund for Beginner Flute Ditherers to buy them one of Doug's beautifully made, shiny, lifetime wonders absolutely free of charge. All I shall ask is free tickets to all their concerts, and free DVD's once they get used to the flute and become famous with it ... :-)