Cheap non-Pakistani flutes on ebay

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
musicaddict99
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am interested in Irish music. I mostly play tin whistle but also dabble in other folk instruments.

Cheap non-Pakistani flutes on ebay

Post by musicaddict99 »

Hi. I am not very good at music, but I like to try and play multiple instruments, and I am always
looking out for new things to try and play.

I was looking on ebay, and I saw some hand made flutes made from pine and oak wood.
Now, I am no expert on flutes, but I know flutes are normally not made from these woods,
but I decided to take a chance, since the flutes were very cheap, and I bought the last
remaining oak flute in low D.

I picked oak over the pine, because as far as I know, oak is a harder wood, and probably makes better
flutes. I know I should probably save up and buy a flute in the $300-$500 range (since that is what
the good beginner flutes seem to cost) but since it was made outside of Pakistan, I decided to take a chance.

Here is the seller, if you want to take a look:http://www.ebay.com/usr/pgrimmitt?_trks ... 7675.l2559
s1m0n
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: Cheap non-Pakistani flutes on ebay

Post by s1m0n »

I didn't check your seller out, so I can't offer any specific info. However. Oak is a ring porous wood, meaning that you can suck or blow air the length of any quarter-sawn length of it, and hence diagonally through any other portion. This is exactly what you don't want in a flute. My advice is to RUN from this offering. You will earn back the price of a used (or new) entry-level flute from a known maker long before you make this purchase pay off.