It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:39 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:26 pm 

Hi. I am not very good at music, but I like to try and play multiple instruments, and I am always
looking out for new things to try and play.

I was looking on ebay, and I saw some hand made flutes made from pine and oak wood.
Now, I am no expert on flutes, but I know flutes are normally not made from these woods,
but I decided to take a chance, since the flutes were very cheap, and I bought the last
remaining oak flute in low D.

I picked oak over the pine, because as far as I know, oak is a harder wood, and probably makes better
flutes. I know I should probably save up and buy a flute in the $300-$500 range (since that is what
the good beginner flutes seem to cost) but since it was made outside of Pakistan, I decided to take a chance.

Here is the seller, if you want to take a look:http://www.ebay.com/usr/pgrimmitt?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:40 pm 

I didn't check your seller out, so I can't offer any specific info. However. Oak is a ring porous wood, meaning that you can suck or blow air the length of any quarter-sawn length of it, and hence diagonally through any other portion. This is exactly what you don't want in a flute. My advice is to RUN from this offering. You will earn back the price of a used (or new) entry-level flute from a known maker long before you make this purchase pay off.

And now there was no doubt that the trees were really moving - moving in and out through one another as if in a complicated country dance. ('And I suppose,' thought Lucy, 'when trees dance, it must be a very, very country dance indeed.')

C.S. Lewis

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:16 am 

Location: Unimportant island off the great mainland of Europe