Grinter vs. Olwell Pratten?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
John Driscoll
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing Irish flute and whistles since January 2016. It's been a great departure from percussion, which has been my primary form of musicianship since I was a boy.

Grinter vs. Olwell Pratten?

Post by John Driscoll »

Hello! Here's a question for folks who have played both of these flutes. Can anyone shed light on the main differences in tone between these flutes, or how the feel might differ?

I live in northern Michigan, and rarely get the chance to play other people's flutes, so how can I know if I'm a Rudall man or a Pratten man? Life is full of difficult decisions...

Let me acknowledge that I love my Olwell Pratten. But, I've just not spent a great deal of time with Rudall flutes, and I wonder if it might be a better fit for me?

Any light that can be shed is much appreciated.

-John
bradhurley
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Grinter vs. Olwell Pratten?

Post by bradhurley »

John Driscoll wrote: I live in northern Michigan, and rarely get the chance to play other people's flutes, so how can I know if I'm a Rudall man or a Pratten man? Life is full of difficult decisions...
I don't think you can tell without playing them. You'll hear nonsense such as "Rudall flutes are quieter" or "Pratten flutes have more power," but perhaps the only generalizations that can be made are that there are differences in tuning (particularly on the bottom D, which requires a different technique for playing it in tune on a Rudall flute than on a Pratten) and there might be a bit more depth/complexity in the tone of a Rudall-style flute, but the differences are subtle.