M&E 6 Key

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
Scouter
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I am a musician and love folk instruments. I am learning about penny whistles and Irish flutes. I play many instruments but one of my main instruments for many years has been oboe. This makes learning the whistle and flute rather easy. Now to learn about best practices for the genre.

M&E 6 Key

Post by Scouter »

Hello All,

If you own or have played an M&E 6 Key flute, would you please share your experience?

When you played it did the birds sing and the flowers bloom, or did it put a wart on your lip? Perhaps, your experience was somewhere in between.

It seems a good price for a 6 Key.

Scouter
plunk111
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: M&E 6 Key

Post by plunk111 »

I had one for a while - I bought it directly from Michael Cronolly for an incredibly good price ($500US for an ABW flute was awesome). It played fine, but eventually went the way of most of my old flutes when I graduated to a John Gallagher 8-key. I really can't remember any specifics (it was probably 7-8 years ago), but I definitely don't remember anything bad about it. I really prefer block-mounted keys and his were post-mounted and kinda cheap-seeming, but the sealed fine and it played ok. Hope that helps. Oh yeah - I have played/owned his keyless delrins as well.

Pat
Pat Plunkett, Wheeling, WV
Steve Bliven

Post by Steve Bliven »