Advice for growing the collection?

The Chiff & Fipple Irish Flute on-line community. Sideblown for your protection.
John Driscoll
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been playing Irish flute and whistles since January 2016. It's been a great departure from percussion, which has been my primary form of musicianship since I was a boy.

Advice for growing the collection?

Post by John Driscoll »

Hello,

I'm new to flute and even newer to the forum. I've been playing just over a year now, and I'm thinking of venturing into keyed flute world. Currently, I play ITM at a local session almost exclusively, but I'd like to branch out to other styles of folk music.

I currently own a keyless Olwell in Blackwood and a keyless Sweetheart in Rosewood (Resonance model).

I love the raw power and bark of the Sweetheart, and find it suits the session well. The Olwell has a more refined, sweet and clear tone, but of course does great at the session, too. I'm thinking that if I'm going to go the route of a keyed flute, I would swap out the Olwell. I know I'm opening a huge can of worms, but...

What would you recommend for a keyed flute to compliment the unlined, raw-sounding session machine that is my Sweetheart? I'm currently looking at a Copeland 4 key in Rosewood and an older Burns 6 key in Blackwood.

For the record, my current dream flute is a 6-key Olwell, Boxwood, Rudall style, possibly French head joint. And yes, I am on Pat's waiting list...so 2022 is gonna be a great year :D

-John
NicoMoreno
Tell us something.: I just wanted to update my location... 100 characters is a lot and I don't really want to type so much just to edit my profile...

Re: Advice for growing the collection?

Post by NicoMoreno »