Adjusting Walsh Smallpipe Chanter Reed

The Wonderful World of ... Other Bagpipes. All the surly with none of the regs!
MadmanWithaWhistle
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Instrument maker and researcher exploring new methods of creating traditional instruments with longevity aforethought. Player of the whistle, flute, and continental European border pipes.

Adjusting Walsh Smallpipe Chanter Reed

Post by MadmanWithaWhistle »

Hi Pipers,

I have a question about adjusting chanter reeds. I'm relatively new to the pipes and don't want to go messing with things that I could damage without determining the problem first, which may very well be my technique.

I've noticed that around the C and D of my chanter (an A chanter), I tend to get a harsher sound with my normal pressure on the bag, bordering on "burbling." Pushing a bit harder seems to correct this, but raises the pitch of my lowest drone, which I had to pull out nearly as far as it would go. I know Walsh sends out his pipes very well set-up, so the fact that my drones are so far out causes me to worry a bit. Pushing in the chanter reed with the same pressure brings the drones back to the middle of the hemp, but sharpens my chanter too much to play with other instruments. Are C and D inherently tricker, or do I need to adjust my chanter reed's apature? Or is there a way to lower the drone reed's pitch?

As an aside, Walsh cautions against playing them "too hard," which I assumed meant with too much pressure. Since I'm not a highland piper, I'm not really sure if what feels like a lot of pressure to me is really that much.

Anyway, I'm planning on contacting him but wanted to check here first to see if anyone had any thoughts before I go pestering a busy pipemaker.

Edit: I would also ask my teacher, but I'm off on summer break across the country.
pancelticpiper
Tell us something.: Playing Scottish and Irish music in California for 45 years.