Need Help on Pumping Bellows...

The Wonderful World of ... Other Bagpipes. All the surly with none of the regs!
*Cedar The Whistler*
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I'm a composer, artist, photographer, musician, vegan, mountain unicyclist, and lover of life!!!
Create what you feel, share with the world, and be yourself always (:
New Youtube channel -Subscribe, thank you!

Need Help on Pumping Bellows...

Post by *Cedar The Whistler* »

I just got my set of border pipes yesterday. I have never used bellows before. Any advice on posture, bag pressure or anything would be very helpful! Thank you!
I'm a whistle player from California living the dream playing whistle in Dublin, Ireland.
Band member of the band Tradify (album out now, check it out)! Sláinte!
Gmail: cedardobsonmusic@gmail.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CedarDobsonMusic
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@CedarDobsonMusic
Finikey O'Reeley
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Re: Need Help on Pumping Bellows...

Post by Finikey O'Reeley »

I have Uilleann pipes and Scottish small pipes, not Border pipes, but the issues should be similar. As for posture, keeping your back relatively straight will affect in a positive way your endurance. Leaning "into" the chanter tends to transfer stress to your forearms and hands, resulting in "the grip of death". For me, finding a comfortable posture was a function of finding the best position of the bag such that I could hold the chanter comfortably. Regarding bag pressure and bellows action, that's something that requires practice and patience in order to reach a point where you don't even think about it. I tend to keep my bag pressure pretty high and tend to pump the bellows a lot. Others will "take deeper breaths" with their bellows, pumping more air, less often. Some of that is also a function of the capacity of the bellows. Again, the goal I think is to make it feel natural for you.