Irish tunes on harmonica, which harp?

We have some evidence, however, that you may have to pay for the reeds.
johnmcochran
antispam: No

Irish tunes on harmonica, which harp?

Post by johnmcochran »

Forgive me for repeating a question I'm sure has been posed many times before, but I couldn't seem to find the right thread.

I'm a relative newbie to the whistle (and an adult learner when it comes to music generally). I've also begun noodling around with the harmonica. To begin playing on the harmonica some of the Irish tunes I've learned for the whistle (say, "Si Beag Si Mohr," for starters ... or "Inisheer"), is there a single harmonica that would serve me best?

Do I need to buy (or assemble myself) a harp in Paddy Richter tuning? Or is the Lee Oskar Melody Maker in D (the cheaper option, I think) the one to buy?

Thanks!
JC
TaoCat

Re: Irish tunes on harmonica, which harp?

Post by TaoCat »

It would be very difficult to do it all on one harmonica. You'll need one in G and D for certain, and an A and C are often handy as well. As to the tuning, you can do a lot with a standard harp, but many tunes become much easier with the paddy richter tuning. You can assemble them yourself from Lee Oskar plates, or buy them ready-made from Seydel. http://coast2coastmusic.com/cgi-bin/car ... /to=x.html
Although I've had trouble with a certain reed on their Blues Session Paddy Richter D harmonicas, my G has lasted a couple of years now. If you have the money, I have heard nothing but good things about their 1874 models. Indeed, I am probably going to get one myself soon, should the budget goddess alllow. But don't let it intimidate you: a single D harmonica will stand you for many tunes.

It's also not impossible to tune a regular harp to Paddy Richter (If I managed it, anybody can) but you are risking a bit of money should it turn out poorly.