"Paddy Richter" harmonica tuning

We have some evidence, however, that you may have to pay for the reeds.
hans
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: I've been making whistles since 2010 in my tiny workshop at my home. I've been playing whistle since teenage times.

"Paddy Richter" harmonica tuning

Post by hans »

After a lot of searching and reading (thanks to Steve posting here before) I took the courage and operated my first diatonic harmonica, a very cheap C harp I picked up in Lidl for £3. It took awhile, because I was extra cautious and inexperienced and afraid to ruin the reed. But it worked, and I am delighted with the result.

Having that 3-blow G raised to A, suddenly I can play melodies, and especially in A minor. I would not have thought that such a small change would have such a big impact for playing this thing.

Now I am wondering: I like the way A minor plays now on this C harp, but I find to play D Dorian really awkward. I like to play blowing the root note of the mode, I think. And Dorian is more useful than Aeolian minor. So to play for instance in E Dorian, shall I get myself a D Melody Maker harmonica, which is tuned same as a G major "Paddy Richter", except having C#s instead of Cs? Or do I really have to learn to play Dorian cross-harp, if that's what it is called?

Any hints appreciated!
SteveShaw
Location: Beautiful, beautiful north Cornwall. The Doom Bar is on me.

Re: "Paddy Richter" harmonica tuning

Post by SteveShaw »