the need for speed

We have some evidence, however, that you may have to pay for the reeds.
tedrick
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

the need for speed

Post by tedrick »

First of all I would like to say thanks to the nice people here on this forum. There are other web forums out there where flame wars erupt constantly -- making it an uncomfortable atmosphere for new comers.

I have been playing the B/C box for 2 years and am doing pretty well on it but something is holding me back when it comes to speed on reels.

Specifically, I want to be able to play reels at 117 -- but I can't get much above 100 --

What do you think? Is this just normal? Does speed just come with hours of practice? Are there some exersizes or drills I could work on, other than just playing the same tunes over and over again and building them up 1 bpm at a time?

Question #1 for my fellow free reeders: compared to the B/C box, does the C#/D box have advantages in terms of allowing faster playing?

Question #2: is it easier to get more speed on the PA or chromatic button (continental) systems?

Thanks!
Ted
Accordionly yours,
Tedrick Schmenke
s1m0n
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Re: the need for speed

Post by s1m0n »

tedrick wrote:Does speed just come with hours of practice?
Speed comes with hours and hours of playing slow.
And now there was no doubt that the trees were really moving - moving in and out through one another as if in a complicated country dance. ('And I suppose,' thought Lucy, 'when trees dance, it must be a very, very country dance indeed.')

C.S. Lewis
StevieJ
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8
Tell us something.: Old hand, active in the early 2000s. Less active in recent years but still lurking from time to time.

Post by StevieJ »

s1m0n wrote:
tedrick wrote:Does speed just come with hours of practice?
Speed comes with hours and hours of playing slow.