It is currently Sat Jan 16, 2021 3:40 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Introduction & Question
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:33 am 

Hello -
I've just completed a beginning box class with Brian Hart of Chicago. I have been renting a Delicia accordion from our local Celtic arts group and am looking to buy an accordion of my own. Because I work for a nonprofit arts group, my income is quite modest and I don't have a lot to spend on a box right now. Can't seem to locate the Delicia model here in the states. I was wondering if any of you had experience with the Irish Dancemaster made here in the US. The cost for it would be stretching my funds to the limit, but I might go for it if it would be a box that would be satisfying even after (or if) I get past the beginners stage.

I am a weaver/weaving teacher in central Missouri with very little music-playing background except for a bit of noodling on the whistle. The button accordion has won my heart with its perverse nature and I am determined to continue with it.

Thanks very much for your input.
Jenny
Mid Missouri

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 1:21 pm 

Hi Jenny

I have never seen an Irish Dancemaster but have yet to hear anything bad about them. There is a member here, Claudine, who bought one not long ago. She may not check the board very often so I'd suggest sending her an email.

http://chiffboard.mati.ca/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&u=53

Steve

PS Perverse is right... but you'd be surprised how quickly it gets to seem normal. In other words, you'll be perverted by it :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:33 am 

Thank you, Steve. I will contact her. I have communicated with the gentleman at Dancemaster and he seems very forthcoming and helpful.

Jenny

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 2:58 pm 

i am still very happy with my Dancemaster accordion. i even feel it sounds better and is easier to play now than when it was all new.