Irish Flute teachers in Illinois

Post here if you are looking for a music teacher or if you want to make yourself available to accept students. See the Guidelines before posting.
Flutester
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Irish Flute teachers in Illinois

Post by Flutester »

Hi. I am new to the Irish flute and am having a very difficult time finding any teachers in the south suburbs of Chicago. So far, I have heard of only one and he never returned my call. I would like to get jump started on the Irish flute with some lessons to avoid the common problems of beginners. I have purchased a Doug Tipple flute and have several books, but the books can only go so far. So, any help you can provide in finding an Irish flute teacher would be very much appreciated. Thanks.
Jim Casey
withak

Post by withak »

I don't know what counts as south suburbs for you, but if you were willing to travel a little further then you could probably find a world-class teacher somewhere in Chicago.
daiv
antispam: No

Post by daiv »

withak wrote:I don't know what counts as south suburbs for you, but if you were willing to travel a little further then you could probably find a world-class teacher somewhere in Chicago.
sean ryan and larry nugent are the first that come to mind.
flutey1

Post by flutey1 »

There's the Academy of Irish Music in Chicago, but it's kind of north of downtown. The director's Noel Rice, who plays boehm flute Irish style, rather than an Irish flute. He may be able to put you in touch with someone closer to you. Their site is http://www.academyofirishmusic.org/index.html. I'm actually from west of Chicago (outside the suburbs), and my problem was not being able to get into the city to take advantage of the music scene there, so if you can, go for that. best wishes.

cheers,
Sara
KarenCook
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

finding flute teachers in Chicago?

Post by KarenCook »