Tenor banjo help sought!

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
lordofthestrings
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Tenor banjo help sought!

Post by lordofthestrings »

'Ello all!

I have been playing a long scale tenor banjo for several years, and was recently lucky enough to pick up a vintage 1920's Washburn Irish Tenor banjo. After a little TLC, she's all ready to go, and I am really happy.

The End? .... But wait .....

I am seekign help in the stringing department. I seek to string her tuned E A D G (like a violin or mandolin or conventional irish tenor) HOWEVER... There seems to be way too much tension on the E string, and I cannot get it up to pitch. I fear rupturing the origional claf skin head.

Any help/thoughts? My Banjology Restoration Experimentation Appreation Department (BREAD) is out of ideas.

Help me Obi-Wan-Kenobi...
- - - Spence - - -
A little autobiography, including pictures, Here
Actually, I hate music. I'm only doing this for the money.
awildman

Post by awildman »

correct tuning should be GDAE, low to high.
s1m0n
Please enter the next number in sequence: 10

Post by s1m0n »

Buy an 'irish' string set, or buy a standard TB string set, which is intended to be CGDA. Throw away the C and move the others over, and then buy a single guitar or whatever string to make up the E string for the set.
And now there was no doubt that the trees were really moving - moving in and out through one another as if in a complicated country dance. ('And I suppose,' thought Lucy, 'when trees dance, it must be a very, very country dance indeed.')

C.S. Lewis
rh

Post by rh »

s1m0n wrote:or buy a standard TB string set, which is intended to be CGDA. Throw away the C and move the others over, and then buy a single guitar or whatever string to make up the E string for the set.