advice for guitarist moving to melody instrument

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
bradster

advice for guitarist moving to melody instrument

Post by bradster »

Greetings people.
I am a guitarist ( don’t hate me , I'm willing to change ) who is considering a move to a melody instrument to play Irish trad ( in sessions ).
I'm more interested in playing the melody than backing.
Way I see it , I can play the melody on the guitar , this is possible but hard to do as fast as I hear the pipes or fiddles playing!
Also , very very quiet compared to other session instruments
Next choice is another stringed instrument , to me , banjo , mandolin or bouzouki spring to mind.
Banjo strikes me as near guitar scale length so my fingers should be ok.
Mandolin , I love the sound but those frets are so small!
And can it be heard in a loud session?
Bouzouki , is this more for backing ?
Or indeed I can switch to a non fretted instrument but I'm a bit lazy!

Has anyone made any of the above transitions or can make any recommendations?

Any advice much appreciated.
Congratulations
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Congratulations »

I've only ever seen a bouzouki backing. I like mandolin myself, but I've never played in anything other than a very small session, so I don't know about how well it'd hold up, volume-wise. It's a wonderful instrument, though.

Please don't play banjo.

Also, feel free to consider whistle. Call me silly, but you'll probably end up picking one up, anyway.

(Oh, and good on you for moving to melody!)
oh Lana Turner we love you get up
bradster

Post by bradster »

thanks for advice ,
are banjo's really disliked !?
I like the sound myself.
Miwokhill

Post by Miwokhill »