5 string open back roll call

Our first forum for instruments you don't blow.
piperdoc

5 string open back roll call

Post by piperdoc »

its not the obvious or most common banjo for irish traditional music. but it can apparently be done. so, do we have fans?
ken perlman fans?
what tunings are people using? are we fingerpicking, flatpicking, or frailing g-d forbid?
what tunings are we using?
anyone playing IT with a bluegrass banjo?
any keith tuner fans?
i just started playing with this-basically when i can't pump the bellows anymore, or when i know the neighbor wants to sleep.
lets share info, tabs, playing hints

meir
Bill Reeder
antispam: No

Post by Bill Reeder »

I sold my Gibson Mastertone in order to finance my first set of Uilleann pipes - one of my better life changing decisions. I still have an old Gibson long neck banjo that I bought nearly 40 years ago. I get it out now and then, but not for very long. I used to do both fingerpicking and clawhammer/frailing on it, but I'm way out of practice now.
Bill

"... you discover that everything is just right: the drones steady and sonorous, the regulators crisp and tuneful and the chanter sweet and responsive. ... I really look forward to those five or six days every year." Robbie Hannan
Darwin
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

Post by Darwin »

I bought a Deering Sierra just 5 weeks ago. It's my first 5-string in about 15 years. I haven't tried much ITM with it, but I do play a couple of fiddle tunes in A mixolydian (Salt Creek and Red-haired Boy) mostly single-string style with the capo on the second fret and playing as if in G.